top of page
Featured Posts

where have I been?


Home, for the most part, and in my sewing room for much of that time. I am finally putting the facing on the quilt I have been working on for Usha. I gave myself a deadline and put off most other things till I was done. It's late, so I will finish the last of the hand-stitching tomorrow. Then, a fresh start on something else I want to try.

improv quilt almost done

Monday was a city day: Phil and I went to the Museum of Modern Art to see the Rauschenberg and Friends exhibit and the Frank Lloyd Wright exhibit. The Wright exhibit was mostly his architectural drawings -- rooms and rooms of them. Some of the buildings were built; others were never realized. But honestly, too much detail to take in. I don't know what I expected, but that wasn't it.

The Rauschenberg was, as always, a pleasure.I had seen most of these works about 10 years ago at the Met but it was good to see them again, along with other works by his friends: Warhol, Jasper Johns, etc.

Remember when there was a brouhaha of outraged quilters when this piece (I think it is titled "Bed.") was first exhibited? They ranted about Rauschenber's desecrating a QUILT -- as if it weren't already a "cutter" before he even touched it.

By far the most interesting exhibit was the one of Women Artists who did abstract work but were largely ignored at the time. Many I had not heard of, along with people like Louise Nevelson, Gego, Elaine deKooning, Joan Mitchell, Lee Krasner, and others. I took only a couple of pictures and of course, forgot to write down the artists' names. ARGH. I would gladly have taken this one home. Sorry for the lack of attribution:-(

Weather has been beautiful and more of my daylilies were in bloom this morning. Too bad they last only for a day.

color in the garden

Wee hours of the morning and I apologize for no translation into French tonight. Will see you anon.


folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page