top of page
Featured Posts

Untitled


Don't you hate it when a piece of art has the title of Untitled? I do. Is that the actual TITLE or is it just a statement that the artist has no idea what the piece is about? I would think that almost anything would be better: Blue Dots or Yellow Line (even if there isn't one, it would give the viewer something to think about). But it just isn't right to send a piece out into the world without a name. How would you like it if you didn't have a name?

This one still doesn't have a name, so I have still not put the facing on. It has not yet spoken, so I am waiting. You've seen it before, but I am not ready to release it into the world. (Not that you are not the world, but you know what I mean).

untitled quilt

I prefer to give a piece a somewhat ambiguous name, or one that is open to interpretation. That way, the viewer can bring his/her own experiences and perceptions to the piece. Not always easy to come up with something, and sometimes you have to ask other people what they see; that can help you. But what they see has to resonate with you or neither you nor the piece will be happy.

This piece has a name, but when I posted it on Instagram, three people commented on what it reminded them of. Interesting, since what they saw has been a recurring visual theme in my work (without my thinking about it). So do I change the name? Or does it matter?

Do you have trouble (sometimes) giving your work a title? Do you have many Untitleds in your collection? Do you ask other people what they see and go with their suggestions?

With that, I am leaving shortly for Paducah. Have not been there in more than three years and it is way past time for a vacation from cleaning out closets! My next post will be from there. Yay!


folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page