top of page
Featured Posts

cleaning my oven at midnight?


Yep. I thought it was time to see if the self-cleaning part of my range works.

Nothing else around here self-cleans, and my live-in help (guess who?) is about to give notice. But tomorrow is my day off, so I may reconsider after a break.

I have a tiny kitchen, compared to what I had in NJ (below) - but it is very efficient.

The oven is self-cleaning as we speak. I can't open the window to let out the fumes because the screen is broken and the little lizard-y creatures will come in to visit. Not in the mood for visitors tonight. The pots on the sill contain basil and mint - my two must-haves. My ginger plant died of sadness when it was leaving NJ, so I have started again. These are on the porch, sprouting away. Photos of those on another day.

But I digress. My favorite part of the kitchen is my spice rack on my counter, thanks to the Container Store. I had to buy two of them because I have so many spices, and all 40 jars are filled. I had to make my own labels for some because I have spices they don't have labels for. Kalonji, Hing, Mustard seeds, Cardamom pods, Amchur, Fenugreek and Hing, to name a few. In NJ I had a pull-out spice cabinet but I could never find anything because they were in random jars and tins and my live-in help never put them back in alphabetical order. But here, it's easy and I can SEE what I have.

Enough of this idle chit-chat. I spent a few hours this afternooon at the studio, sewing together my new favorite quilt top. I have a commission from someone who said "make me a quilt you think I would like." That's the only kind I will take because I can make whatever happens to come together. What fun! Now I have two options to show -- both incorporating experiments from my book.

The oven has another two hours to clean itself, but I can wait until morning to see the result. It's nice to have but I could probably survive without it.

For me, the spice rack is my favorite, my Nespresso machine my second fave, but I couldn't live without my garbage disposal.

What are your two favorite items in the kitchen? What could you not live without?


folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page