top of page
Featured Posts

studio journal #2


I am unaccountably happy when I am in this (messy) space. Even before I get here (it’s a 4 minute drive from my apartment and a 20 min walk but I am always schlepping STUFF), I feel a sense of joy.

Last night I was too tired to clean up, so first order of business today is sorting and making room for what I need to work on today.

I spent all day yesterday working with Malaysian batiks, trying to make something that worked for me. At the end of the day I gave up because nothing worked -- and it was only later that I realized why I was so frustrated.

I WAS THINKING TOO MUCH. Truly: I was paralyzed.

I have a lot of leftover triangles and some odd shaped scraps. Think I'll slice and combine them and see what develops.

June 19, 2018

Made a little progress today. It is so much fun to play with these random-sized experiments. The triangles are Malaysian batiks.

Added another row to see what it would look like.

Here is how it looked at the end of the day. Of course, it will change again as I continue to work.

June 20, 2018

Haven't gotten any further. I have not been in the studio for the last two days: been taking care of life. Supermarkets, cooking, cleaning, laundry and sending out supply lists and contracts for 2019. I did bring a pile of triangles and fabrics home to work on at night but I started reading Mudbound and couldn't put it down. Too tired to cook: here was my dinner (actually, it was yum).

June 21, 2018

Today, I continued with business emails and fighting with Amazon Prime (another story) while I stayed home waiting for the Palm Beach County building inspector to come and inspect my new hurricane-proof front door. By the time he came and left it was too late too go anywhere. But I love my new door. It replaced an old wooden door that was too warped to lock easily. When I got a new lock and doorknob I got a double set so my studio has the same one and I need only one key for both! One less key to wory about!

No, that's not a mural - it's the refletion of the evening sky behind me at this moment. I love the little mini-blinds that open and close for light and privacy. And they are between the double hurricane glass so I never have to dust them! I have to have the door painted and put up numbers, so that's next on the list.

Enough of this waxing poetic on the subject of a door. I'm flipping a coin between reading and cutting up triangles and I think the reading might win. I'll be in the studio again tomorrow.


folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page