top of page
Featured Posts

my traditional roots


Yep, I started as a traditional quilter. What else was there in 1974 when I started making quilts? I don't really have any photos of my work before 1993 because I didn't realize that I should have been documenting my work that long ago. Anyway, I was making mostly baby quilts in those days. They were the repositories of my experimental blocks.

1993

I have no memory of who got this one, but in a way I am sorry I don't still have it. All the blocks were made from vintage 1940's and '50s fabrics that my grandmother had brought home from the dress factory where she worked. Hand quilted and, I am sure, hand-pieced. I had challenged myself to learn to make Y-seams. Once I knew I could do it, I never had to do it again if I didn't want to. Did I want to??? I don't remember.

This was also 1993. Anyone who has seen my slide show lecture might have seen this. It was the first thing I did after I left the job with the boss from hell. I had a book of antique quilts and fell in love with a blue and white 19th c. quilt like this. I couldn't find a pattern for the cups, so believe it or not, I drafted the pattern myself. I have no idea how I did it and I certainly could/would not do it again. I got two small quilts out of those blocks and think I still have a few in my UFO block collection. Cut with scissors, hand pieced & quilted. It hung on my guest room wall until I moved to Florida. Not sure where it is now.

You can tell this was an experimental "can I make these blocks? baby quilt. Even then, I wanted to see how using different fabrics could change the look of a block. By hand. I LOVED making those blocks. Do I still have this one??

1994

Later in the '90s I was at a quilt show in either NJ or Pennsylvania. Super traditional (were there any other kind??) and while I was in the vendor mall, I came across a woman selling the most gorgeous Indian batiks. They stopped me cold because I had never seen anything like them. This was the type of show where the attendees were wearing quilted vests and skirts they had made themselves -- you know what I am talking about. They walked into the Indian batik booth, took a quick look, and walked out again.

I knew they couldn't picture how to make a traditional quilt with non-cutesy florals and other prints, so I introduced myself and told the vendor that if she would give me some fabric, I would make a traditional quilt she could hang in her booth to show people how her fabrics could be used in traditional quilts.

This was the quilt I made. Usha hung it in her booth, Handloom Batik, and the rest is history.

1995 or 1996

1995 traditional quilt with Indian batiks

'Nuff history.

xo


folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page