top of page
Featured Posts

sigh of relief...


I have spent most of the last six weeks in the dentist's office, which didn't leave much time for blogging or working in the studio. Last week 3 times and this week, twice.

Last week my brother and sister-in-law were here for a few days from Pittsburgh. What a joy to spend time with my brother; this was a rare visit and we always make each other laugh. When we were children at the dinner table all we had to do was look at each other and we both collapsed in hysterics over nothing. What a gift!

We spent several days (without making a dent) going through family photos and documents so he could take what he wanted. There are still thousands left (and I am not exaggerating). Cartons all over the living room so I can sort and label before I return them to the overstuffed closet. OMG.

Today I am in the studio because my new kitchen cabinets were delivered. At the moment, they are in the bedroom keeping the dishwasher company. Nothing more will be done until January.

Here is how the kitchen looks now. It's tiny (7.5'x7.5' ) and pretty much a horror. I never intended to renovate it but wanted a dishwasher and a garbage disposal. Because the counter was installed wrong we couldn't get the cabinet out without destroying the (butt ugly) formica counter - here we go. The new range and fridge are already it. The old ones were unspeakable. January!!

Last week I finished stitching this little guy (with a ¼" foot). It is 12" x 12' and I am going to mount it on a gallery-wrapped canvas. This is made with Helene Davis' hand-dyed fabrics; I started it in July when I was in Paducah. I was going to submit it to QuiltCon in the small quilts category, but missed the deadline. sigh...

For better or worse, I am DONE with this piece. It was not intended to be perfect - it is improv, after all. With all this talk about walking feet I finally decided to try mine again. I hated it years ago and I hate it now. For the last section of quilting I went back to my ¼" foot and it is fine.

It may remain nameless. `I know what it reminds me of and I'd love to know what it makes you think of.

Hope you have super holiday season and I'll see you in 2020.

xoxo

R.


folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page