top of page
Featured Posts

Ice cream and other nonsense

Melissa Clark's NYT ice cream base recipe is where I always start (and modify) no matter what flavor I'm making. I make a quart of ice cream about every week or so and my partner Phil and I have a little bit every night. ("Little bit" is the secret).


Of course, it's your fault I had to have this for breakfast today because I had to take a picture and I couldn't put it back in the freezer container, could I?


Check NY Times Cooking for Melissa Clark's "The Only Ice Cream Recipe You'll Ever Need and please note that I think the recipe is too sweet and rich, so I use ½ cup sugar and 4 egg yolks instead of ¾ and 6. YMMV

My standby flavors are coffee (I use 3 little cups of brewed expresso), vanilla (I add a bit of grated lemon peel and some lemon juice), and salted caramel. I also love basil ice cream but haven't made it in years.


For my version of Melissa's ice cream BASE

  • 2 cups heavy cream

  • ⅛ tsp salt

  • 1 cup whole milk (If you are lactose intolerant, as I am, use lactose free milk. Cream has no lactose)

  • ½ cup sugar (dark brown sugar for this one)

  • 1 Tbs vanilla extract (btw, if you are near a Costco, buy vanilla there. It is excellent and waaaay less expensive than in the supermarket)

  • Follow the rest of Melissa Clark's directions for making the custard. 4 egg yolks are enough. (no need to strain before you put it into the fridge).

While the base chills

sauté 1/2 cup pecans in 1-2 T salted butter till slightly brown. Cool on paper towel or parchment.

Once the mix is churning, add the pecans and when it gets close to being done, add 1-2 Tbs of bourbon. (If you make ice cream you know to add 1T vodka to most flavors to keep the ice cream from freezing too hard or becoming icy)

**Optional (and yummy if you have any) I add ¼ -½ cup candied ginger.

That's it, people. Enjoy!


Let me know in the comments how you made out with the recipe.

xo

Rayna




folllow my blog on Bloglovin
Recent Posts
follow this blog
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page